‘Illuminae’ by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminaeBriefly. This book was lent to me, with several others that I have enjoyed or am looking forward to, by Miss Oblique #1. I knew having children was a good idea.

I loved this book. It is, I suppose, young adult sci-fi, but greatly appealed to this rather older adult. The subject matter is perhaps not ground-breaking. There is a good plot about space battlecruisers, artificial intelligence and a plague. It is however told in what might be called an epistolary form, with e-mails, interviews, battle reports, surveillance reports and diagrams. I found this utterly compelling. It is well crafted and well written. I recommend it to anybody with an interest in science fiction. Best of all, there’s a sequel….

One thought on “‘Illuminae’ by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

