A view from a room

I thought I’d try an instant post!

I am writing this sitting in a Premier Inn room. It is warm, clean and comfortable. We have a TV, kettle, comfortable bed… Even a sea view. The staff have been polite, friendly and helpful. This is the standard I have come to expect from this chain. It’s in a really convenient location, too.
I must add here that I have a very similar view of Travelodge, although the rooms are a bit more basic and I think a little cheaper. (My only quibble is that in the last one the lighting levels were too low to read.)

No, this is not sponsored. I just want to point out that we are more and more automatically staying in these chains. We have on previous occasions promised ourselves a treat and gone ‘up-market’ but been disappointed. The hotels may have been more individual, with more public spaces; but so often decor has been shabby, staff have been curt, rooms have been poorly arranged. (And what has happened to the lovely B & Bs we used to stay in? They now seem to have vanished or to be horrendously priced…. and of course don’t want a child.)

Premier Inn and Travelodge are above all consistent. They remind me of how war photographer Don McCullin called McDonald’s his eighth wonder of the world, as it was the same wherever in the world he went.
Boring? Maybe. But looking forward to a good night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

